11/25/2014

People can be happy doing just about anything, so long as their actions and beliefs are in alignment.

Action performed and supported by a strong belief, even if that belief has no basis in rationality or fact, makes people feel good.

Actions that go against those core beliefs lead to guilt and sadness, even when those beliefs no longer make any sense. Especially when those beliefs were instilled by someone we respect or seek approval from, like a parent.

So maybe the question I should be asking isn’t “what should I do with my life?” It’s “what do I believe?”

I believe in treating other people kindly, without needing anything in return.
I believe in being open-minded, listening, and trying to understand other perspectives.
I believe in having a long-term plan.
I believe in being honest.
I believe in that which I can observe and measure.
I believe in self-control and discipline.
I believe in moderation.
I believe in being humble.
I believe in respecting personal space.
I believe in being loyal and true.
I believe in being in 100%, or not at all.
I believe in being imperfect, and accepting imperfections in others.
I believe in authenticity.
I believe in forgiveness.
I believe in learning from mistakes.
I believe in walking a mile in other people’s shoes.
I believe in speaking with conviction.
I believe in leaving things better than I found them.
I believe in saying I’m sorry.
I believe in giving more than I take.
I believe in a firm handshake.
I believe in giving myself time to recharge.
I believe in efficiency.
I believe in trust being like a bank account, you have to make more deposits than withdrawals.

If I think of anything else I’ll add it to the list.

Leave a Reply

