11/23/2014 Part 2

I was in a bad place last night/this morning. I was overwhelmed, exhausted, frustrated, at my wit’s end. I didn’t sleep much. Kiddo woke up coughing a couple times, overall it wasn’t too bad but I was sad. Neither of us was going to get to do what we wanted to do this week.

She slept until 10:30 a.m., which was great. She needed it badly. And when she got out of bed she didn’t have a bad coughing fit. We spent the morning relaxing, watching TV, and snacking on dry stuff so her stomach wouldn’t get upset. All things considered, she did well.

Around 1 p.m. I figured we’d give her a test, so we got dressed and took my car for an oil change. I figured going outside might cause her to start coughing. But she did well.

We’ve been home all afternoon and she’s had plenty to eat. For the first time in a while she’s kept everything down. She’s only had a couple of coughing fits, but they haven’t been as bad as before and she hasn’t thrown up a single time today. It’s progress. Whether or not it’s enough progress to go on her trip has yet to be seen. I’m really hoping that she’ll be able to.

I think she’ll spend the night with me again – her grandma’s house has animals that cause her allergies to act up, and that made things worse last night. So she’ll be with me, and then some time in the morning her grandma will come down and pick her up to go to the airport. She’ll get another dose of antibiotics before that and I’ll load her up on nasal spray and cough suppressant. Maybe – just maybe – she’ll get to take her trip after all. And I’ll get that break I’ve been longing for.

I’m scheduled to work tomorrow, but I have the rest of the week off. I am very much looking forward to a break. It just depends how kiddo’s doing tonight and tomorrow morning. Any setbacks, and she’s going to be spending Thanksgiving at home this year. That wouldn’t be bad, I will enjoy having her here, but it’s not what we planned for. It’s not what we wanted.

Leave a Reply

