11/8/2014

I spent the better part of today wondering what the purpose of life was, and feeling completely defeated when I couldn’t come up with a good answer. I feel like I will never be satisfied until I fulfill some higher purpose, or do something earth-shattering. I feel like the majority of people on this planet live meaningless lives…they are born, they grow up, they work and have families and go on vacations and pay their bills, and then they grow old and die. Hell, maybe a majority of people never even get that far. A lot of people grow up in developing countries and have to fight for food and water every day. Some people never make it to 30. We’re all just so caught up in our own little worlds, thinking that the problems we each deal with are all that matters, all thinking that our experiences are unique, blah blah blah. There has to be something more than that. Life is bigger than me. Life is bigger than the town I live in. Life is bigger than this state, nation, continent, planet. I want to live a life that somehow stretches beyond all of that. And what is life? What is death? What happens when we die? I have all these questions, I used to have answers for them but they were founded in a belief system that there is no supporting evidence for. How is anyone supposed to be happy when our lives are nothing but seconds counting toward our eventual demise? After all, death is the only guarantee we have. What can I do now that will mean something after I’m gone?

Leave a Reply

