10/30/2014

October was a month of getting back on track.

I ran 10 times this month for a total distance of 38.6 kilometers and a total time of just over four hours. That’s a lot of running! The ten runs matched my record set in June, but the big difference was in distance:

June runs

  • 1.61
  • 3.75
  • 1.61
  • 1.61
  • 5.41
  • 1.60
  • 2.29
  • 1.60
  • 1.61
  • 1.62

October runs

  • 3.62
  • 4.52
  • 5.11
  • 3.06
  • 1.63
  • 5.10
  • 3.25
  • 3.24
  • 3.91
  • 5.09

It’s crazy to think of how far I have come. Just a few months ago, I was pushing myself consistently to run a mile. Now I am pushing myself consistently to run at least twice that far, often farther. Three of my runs this month were beyond a 5k. For fun.

I also wrote a lot more. This is my 14th post this month. That’s the most I’ve written since – you guessed it – June. As I write this, I am not really sure what happened in June that knocked me off of my routines. Summer was underway…kiddo was at camps and stuff…I was working, and then we went on vacation…ultimate frisbee season was starting. I guess I just got busy. And then there was the move. And then school starting again. And then the musical. I guess I’m finding more time to do these things again. I hope I can keep them up over the winter months.

I’m also getting back on track at work. I finally moved back into the technology office and I think the benefits are already starting to show. I’ve been able to act as a buffer between our tech coordinator and others, thereby improving communication and efficiency. I helped to push our technology leaders toward a consensus about staffing needs. My boss sat down with me the other day and said that he wanted to re-evaluate my job description and increase my pay again, so I must be doing something right.

I’m planning on seeing Christina at least once this week, maybe twice. I am feeling pretty lonely right now so it will be good to have that human contact again.

Leave a Reply

