5/30/2014

9:58 p.m.

Last night.

I’m laying in bed watching Dexter (I’m on season 3).

*Bloop*

New text message.

From girl #1.

“Yes!”

That’s what she wrote. “Yes!”

My heart began slamming itself all around my chest.

What the ALMIGHTY FUCK.

I had given up.

Yet, here she was, over 24 hours after I sent her a message asking if she liked art museums and Mexican food, replying.

I was literally shaking. Shaking from a combination of emotions. Frustration. Elation. Anxiety.

Holy. Shit.

I wanted to convey my surprise in some way, so I texted back, “Really?”

Tick. Tock.

*Bloop*

“Yes…”

That was it. That was her out. I gave her a chance to be like, “Yeah but to be honest I’m not really interested in you” or something of that nature.

I let the cat out of the bag.

“Ok so I had this crazy idea, I really want to visit (city name here) for a day this summer and go to the art museum and eat at (super awesome Mexican restaurant), it’s been on my list of things to do for a while now. I was wondering if you would want to go with me.”

Tick. Tock.

At this point, I’m convincing myself that her reply probably won’t come for another 24 hours.

Heart still thrashing around in my chest.

*Bloop*

“Oh (super awesome Mexican restaurant) is good stuff”

Yeeeesssssss…..buuuuuut…..is she going to leave me hanging with that?

Tick. Tock.

Tick. Tock.

*Bloop*

“Sure. My summer is insanely busy but we can try to find time sometime.”

Image

 

Ok, I’m being cool, I’m being cool.

We agree to toss some dates around next time we see each other, which may or may not be tonight. Some mutual friends were talking about going to see the new X-Men movie.

I am ready. I am going to feel the fear and do it anyway. I am going to stop being so fucking awkward and actually talk to her instead of giving her the weird INFP I’m-avoiding-you-but-I-like-you thing.

 

2 thoughts on “5/30/2014

Leave a Reply

