4/28/2014

In my studies on introversion, I often find references to the INFP trait of seeking purpose or meaning in life. I was thinking about that this morning on my way to work. My commute to work is short – only five or ten minutes – but it takes me through some beautiful countryside and I realized that although I am grateful for what I have, where I am, who I am, etc. I still feel like something is missing. That purpose or meaning is missing. I am in a metaphorical holding pattern. I make the same drive every morning, the same drive in the afternoon, the same trips to town for whatever kiddo is doing throughout the week. It’s a nice holding pattern, but I’m not going to get anywhere. I have no goals. I’m actually a bit afraid to make goals because I’ve been so bad at reaching them. And given that my next counseling appointment is tomorrow morning I feel like now is the right time to set some goals. Some real goals that extend beyond my office job. I need to find out what I’m passionate about. I need to find a reason to get up in the morning and feel good about what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

