Vacation

In this, my third response to the Introverts Blog Quietly Challenge, I answer the following prompt:

You have just won an all-expenses-paid week of vacation. Where would you go? What would you do?

Step one: panic.

Image

With all of the barriers removed – no job, no family, no limitations of time and space – there are countless choices to make. Countless permutations. As one who is a frequent victim of “analysis paralysis”, my first reaction would be to spend a few hours with a deer-in-the-headlights look in my eyes.

Fast-forwarding…

Step two: decide on a companion or companions.

I’m not doing this thing alone. While the introvert in me would surely seek out isolation during this vacation, I would not want to be alone. I may break the vacation into several experiences; one with my daughter, one with theatre friends, one with the fellas.

Step three: where and when.

I would take my daughter to present-day London. We would immerse ourselves in British culture, visit landmarks and famous places, tour the Doctor Who Experience, explore the Tower of London. A day of that would do.

Image

I would take my theatre friends back in time to Shakespeare’s day and sneak into the Globe theatre for a show. Dress up, look the part, do some acting. Since we’ve got a time machine, we’d probably end up pulling a Bill & Ted and visit a few other places and times on the way back. We’d blip back into 2014 just a few seconds after we departed.

Image

For the next four days I’d take the fellas on a trip across the country to visit baseball stadiums. Professional ballparks and a few of the classy minor league fields as well. Hit some bars. Start some fights. Just be guys for a bit.

Image

Step four: and then some “me” time.

You knew it had to be coming. I wouldn’t be a true introvert without, at the end of those five days, doing something for myself. I think I would take a quick two-day trip to see the Northern Lights. I think I’d like to see them in Scandinavia. Just watch them dance for hours upon end. Quiet. Peaceful. Beautiful.

Image

So that would be my week-long vacation. What’s yours? Use the tag IBQ in your own posts to join the conversation.

3 thoughts on “Vacation

  1. Amy Peveto April 28, 2014 / 12:55 am

    I didn’t even think about time travel — there’s so much great stuff to do in the “here and now.” But it could be fun to visit some different times. Just remember that it doesn’t always go well for the Doctor. :p

    Here’s my IBQ for the week. Take care.

  2. The Snallygaster April 28, 2014 / 2:36 am

    True, Amy. We’d have to be careful not to tear the fabric of time and space 🙂

Leave a Reply

