Confidence

This is my response to this week’s IBQ Writing Prompt. I decided to write a poem, since I’m a poet now 🙂

 

   My confidence comes and goes.

     Like the tide rolling in and out

       or the summer becoming fall,

     fall slipping into winter,

   winter warming into spring,

and spring blooming into summer.

   My confidence comes and goes.

 

     My confidence comes and goes.

       I make a mistake and my surety subsides,

     conviction becoming doubt,

   doubt slipping into fear,

fear warming into hope,

   and hope blooming into conviction.

     My confidence comes and goes.

 

       My confidence comes and goes.

     “Give up!” cry my inner demons, “Carry on!” shout their enlightened foes.

   Action becoming procrastination,

procrastination slipping into exhaustion,

   exhaustion warming into desire,

     and desire blooming into action.

       My confidence comes and goes.

6 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. aishasoasis April 18, 2014 / 10:14 am

    That is such a brilliant poem! Your way with leading the images into the next stanza is really creative and lovely, and your message is so true – what a gorgeous combination of poetic music and message!

  2. Leigh W. Smith April 21, 2014 / 2:46 pm

    Not Schadenfreude on my part, but there is some comfort in knowing others share my struggles with confidence. Love the poem; very authentic & relatable!

Leave a Reply

