Solitude

You may have noticed that I did not give this post the usual month/day/year title. That is because I am attempting to participate in a weekly writing challenge. I enjoy reading Chris’ blog over at 61musings.com. Like Chris, I am an introvert. Chris has asked fellow introverts to share their thoughts about a different topic each week. This week’s topic is solitude.

Like many introverts, there are times when I enjoy being alone. Two specific places come to mind.

First, the bathroom. There are few places that offer complete privacy like the bathroom. It is, quite literally, a place where I can be walled off from everything else in the world. My family has come to understand that the bathroom is my sanctuary, my fortress of solitude, if you will.

Image
Get it?

The bathroom is where my deepest thoughts and ideas always come to me. The bathroom is where I question my own existence, my own reality, and my relationships with others. Whether I’m on the throne or in the tub, I am sure to find peace. I have made it clear to the extroverts in my life that I am not to be bothered while I am in the bathroom, lest they feel the wrath of a disturbed introvert.

The other place where I enjoy solitude the most is in the car. In contrast with the peace and quiet of the bathroom, the car is where I am very loud. I turn on music that resonates with me and I sing like an injured banshee. I can unleash whatever feelings have been pent up inside me. For the record, I do make sure that I am driving safely, hands on the wheel at all times. The only downside is traffic lights. When I get to a traffic light I stop singing because I don’t want other drivers to see me belting out the lyrics to whatever song I’m listening to.

I’m not sure why those are the only two places where I really enjoy solitude. I don’t like being alone in my house. I like riding my bicycle, but I’m not really “alone” out on the trail. I guess that the bathroom and the car are the only places where privacy and solitude are guaranteed, nobody is going to knock on the car door to get in or anything.

9 thoughts on “Solitude

  1. Trisha April 2, 2014 / 4:56 pm

    I find my in-the-car solitude to be important too. It’s often where I do my crying!

  2. Mani (A New Life Wandering) April 6, 2014 / 8:44 pm

    That’s funny. I am an introvert too and I do the same when I drive alone. I increase the volume and sing like an extrovert. I have told my husband many times “you should see how I get in the car by myself”, but he won’t see. I will never act like that when he’s around or when anyone is around.

    • The Snallygaster April 7, 2014 / 2:15 pm

      Seriously, is there any better song to jam out to in the car than Bohemian Rhapsody? Thanks for your comment Amy!

Leave a Reply

