3/31/2014

I was going to write a post Saturday night, but I forgot. And then I was going to write a post yesterday, and I forgot. So finally, here is a post.

I had a pretty good weekend.

On Saturday, I spent the whole morning and afternoon trying on different combinations of shirts, ties, and vests in preparation for the trip to the theatre. I wanted to look awesome. I did. By 4 p.m. I was just about having an anxiety attack so I left the house, even though I didn’t need to be to my friend’s house until 5:30. I stopped and bought an umbrella…rain was in the forecast and I figured there might be some walking involved…plus it killed a few minutes. I ended up driving around to kill more time. I arrived at 5:15, sat in the car until 5:25, and just as I was getting ready to get out, I saw girl #1 pulling up so I hopped out and crossed the street as if I had just arrived, I didn’t want her to think I was sitting there waiting like some kind of stalker weirdo. She looked very good. My mind, as it usually does, went blank.

Small talk. I suck at it.

The four of us hit the road and there was a lot of conversation about people I don’t know, so I was pretty quiet, but I knew that things would be okay. We got to the city and my friend has a great parking spot right in the theatre district, which also happens to be right next to the restaurant we ate at. It was excellent. Chicken and apples with a hint of cinnamon, a Redd’s Apple Ale, good conversation. I paid for girl #1’s meal, which I hope was okay. I think it was okay. I mean, after all, I asked her to come…it was kinda-sorta-a-date…I think it was okay. Then we walked over to the theatre.

The show was fantastic. Girl #1 and I sat in the third row from the stage, so we had a great view of everything and she laughed a lot, I’m hoping she enjoyed it as much as I did. We talked about theatre, I had lots of silly questions about this theatre versus that theatre and whether they built all the props locally or if they were shipped from production to production, dumb questions but I really did want to know. I am fascinated by it all. I remember thinking, when I was younger, that I would be good at theatre and enjoy it. I feel bad that I didn’t get my start in it sooner. Now I’m making up for lost time.

So the show went splendidly. Much laughing, much applause, good times. I feel stupid saying this, but this is my blog/journal so I’ll say what I want – just bumping shoulders made the whole evening worth it. I never wanted this. I didn’t intend for this to happen. To feel this way. And I will be the first to admit that these feelings might be fleeting, that eventually they’ll go away, but for now I enjoy every awkward minute with girl #1, I am glad that we are friends, and I want to be better friends. The show ended and we met up with our other two companions for the walk back to the car.

Remember how I bought an umbrella? I left it in my car. So, you can guess what happened then, can’t you? Girl #1 and I shared an umbrella. I love sharing umbrellas. More shoulder bumping. Much fun.

The ride home was better than the ride to the city. I felt like I belonged. Just four friends out for a night on the town. I can’t believe it took me almost 30 years to do that.

Back at my friend’s house, we all parted ways. Girl #1 and I said we’d be at our usual Sunday get-together. She thanked me for dinner and the show. I said it was no problem. It really was no problem. It was worth every penny.

Then yesterday happened…the day started with a continuation of Saturday’s rain, and it got so bad that roads started flooding. I had to pick kiddo up from her aunt and uncle, and they live out across an hour of back roads, so I saw some pretty bad conditions. After picking her up, I took her to the mall where I met the Ex and we got her hair cut. It was long overdue, her hair is so curly, when it gets long all those curls just start to grab each other and they turn into unsolvable knots. We got her a nice haircut, no more knots, what a relief. Then they shopped for some new outfits while I fiddled around on my phone. Then we went to get some dinner. By that point the rain had quite unexpectedly turned into sleet, and even snow in some areas. I guess the temperature dipped more than they thought it would. I began to question whether or not I should stay out. As we ate dinner the sleet and snow seemed to just be melting when it hit the road, but by the time we left it was slippery. I tested the roads out…they were still mainly wet…so we went over to our friend’s house around 6:30 p.m. just to get indoors somewhere. By 7:30 it was just plain old snow, big flakes, starting to stick to the grass. Girl #1 bailed. I was very sad. But we had a good evening anyway. We left shortly after 10 and OH MY GAWD it was the most treacherous drive ever. Probably worse than what I drove in on my way home from Utah, the night I drove through the Rocky Mountains in Wyoming and the only thing I could see was the brake lights of the tractor trailer ahead of me. It was that bad, maybe worse, for the entire drive home. Blinding snow. Slushy roads. It was gross. We made it home safely though. It was a good time, but I was disappointed that the weather had kept my friend away.

I honestly don’t know when I’ll see her next…this season of The Walking Dead ended last night, so I’m hearing that we might start watching Game of Thrones on our Sunday evenings. As far as another “date”, I think I will leave things in girl #1’s court now. After two yeses and four nos, I think she should invite me somewhere. She did, in a way – while we were out on Saturday, she asked if I had seen anything on Broadway. I have not. She said the theatre is taking a bus trip this summer…she said I should bring kiddo along…I would very much like to. Perhaps that counts as her inviting me somewhere?

Leave a Reply

