3/17/2014

Stayed home from work today – call it a “mental health” day. Besides, it snowed. Spring is being a teasy little bitch and it makes me upset.

So while I was home I watched a couple movies while I worked. Spoilers ahead, if you haven’t seen Riddick or Man of Steel.

First was Riddick, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I think Riddick is Vin Diesel’s signature character, there will never be another actor who can play the part that well. The movie was action-packed and gets four stars from me.

Then I watched Man of Steel. I hadn’t seen it yet, even though I really wanted to when it came out in theaters. I knew a little bit of the plot ahead of time but was still blown away by the artistic nature of it all. If I was going to use one word to describe the movie, it might be “beautiful”. It was breathtaking. The acting was much better than I anticipated. Henry Cavill’s portrayal was excellent. I’m very glad that they picked someone who has more than just a slight resemblance to Tom Welling, who really nailed the whole teenage/young adult Superman of TV series Smallville.

I thought the film moved at the perfect pace…plenty of build-up, a lot of action on and around Krypton, some flashbacks to growing up and life lessons from Mr. and Mrs. Kent. I thought all of Clark’s “parents”, be it his real mother and father (bravo to Russell Crowe on a spectacular performance) or his adopted mom and dad, did a fantastic job. Mr. Kent’s death in particular moved me. Two tears, which puts Man of Steel in the top 1% of films I’ve seen in terms of getting an emotional response from me.

Image
Peace in the face of certain death, made even more emotional by the sacrifice for others. Brilliant.

 

Also, jumping back, Lara’s death as she watched Krypton erupt around her. That scene was also very hard to watch.

Image
Set to violin music, no less. Oomph.

So, all things considered, it has been a good day.

I had a very good weekend as well.

On Saturday I was invited to a friend’s house for a wine & cheese party that doubled as a St. Patrick’s Day shindig. It was good fun. I wasn’t sure who else to expect, so I was pleasantly surprised to see some friends from the theatre arriving right in front of me. I walked in the front door and who else but girl #1 was there with her parents. I was unaware that she would be there, so I was very quickly thrown for a loop. I didn’t know what to do, there was nowhere for me to go to gain my composure, I was completely out of my element. I made some small talk with a few strangers and walked around helplessly looking at cheeses and wines that I was suddenly not hungry or thirsty for. Her mom tried several times to talk to me and I know I talked back but it was just bullshit small talk, she’s a very nice person and I’m grateful for her at least trying. I’m not sure if she knows that I like her daughter or not. Eventually they all went and sat in a room and I wandered in after them and listened to their conversation, snuck in a few quips, that sort of thing. They left after a little while and I spent another 30 or 40 minutes talking to other theatre friends. All in all, it was an enjoyable evening.

Yesterday, of course, was Walking Dead night. So again I got to spend a few hours in the presence of girl #1. This was the first time since December that I have seen her two days in a row, if I’m not mistaken. And in two more weeks I will see her on a Saturday and Sunday again. She’s still coming with me to see a show in the city, along with some other friends, and we’re all having dinner beforehand. I’m very excited. I hope I can keep playing it cool. I hate the fact that I fluctuate so much between despair and hope, it’s just that sometimes I interpret her quietness for resentment or needing space, and other times I feel like she is trying to at least be my friend and I appreciate it and get hopeful.

Which brings me full circle back to Man of Steel. There was a quote in that movie said by Father Leone to Clark. He said, “Sometimes you have to take a leap of faith.” And that got me thinking, because I have also recognized that perhaps I need to take a leap of faith, but I don’t know what direction to leap in. How does one figure that mess out? Before you can leap, you’ve got to have a goal. I don’t have one right now, and that’s a problem.

Leave a Reply

