2/27/2014 Part 2

Just had a very interesting meeting with my boss.

We meet periodically to discuss goals, so I came into the meeting prepared to talk about I have been working on and what else I need to get done. Last year we had discussed my future in the organization and he’s always had good things to say about me, but with everything that has gone on in my life I have been getting closer to the fence about having a career in this organization. I’ve looked elsewhere, put in a few applications, that sort of thing. But the honest truth is that I have far more upward mobility within this organization than I would anywhere else, especially considering my lack of a college degree.

Anyway, I was going to bring up a transition we had discussed last year where I would move downstairs and start working more in technology. My first job was in technology so it made sense to start transitioning that way again. But today, my boss threw out there that a possible opening in the business department could be an alternative. That track would take me toward positions like Assistant Business Manager and then Business Manager. There would be a lot of data entry and bookkeeping up front, but it would lead to something bigger down the road.

The alternative, he said, was the technology track. That would take me toward positions like Technology Coordinator.

The decision is mine.

I don’t know what to do…both tracks offer plenty of opportunities for growth, and I’m already becoming familiar with some of the things that they do…but this is a big change, and of course I’m feeling pressure to make a decision quickly. I asked to have some additional conversations and get more detail about each track. I’d like to see job descriptions. I’m not sure how either one will play into my current role in transportation. It will be interesting to see how this goes.

Either way, the bigger question is whether or not I want to have a future in this organization. No matter what I do, it seems like the organization has a desire to give me more responsibility. I suppose that is why those people get paid the big bucks. If I want to be here in the long run, now is the time to make the most of it all. If I want to go elsewhere, now also seems to be the right time to make that move. I have a lot to think about.

On top of everything else going on in my life. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

