1/23/2014

Finally back at work after all of the snow…lost about two pounds since last Wednesday…going to an orchestra concert tonight. I suppose I could also report that I have been brushing up on my Spanish and reading a book about the Higgs boson. Not the worst things that I could be doing with a little extra time on my hands.

Last night I took kiddo to the ice skating rink. On the way home we dropped off some books at the theater…girl #1 had let me borrow them. It was nice to see some of my friends there. After we left, kiddo brought up my love life, which was awkward and uncomfortable. She said that I should have a girl in my life. I grilled her a little bit – why do I need a girl, why do you think this and that, that sort of thing – and what it boiled down to was that she didn’t want me to be lonely. I talked to her about just needing friends and not being ready to start a relationship with anyone. I told her that it was okay for it to be just the two of us for a while. But she is just as empathetic as I am, and she knows that something isn’t right with me. Too damn smart. So she says she is going to be on the lookout for a nice girl for me.

She wants me to be happy. I appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

