2/13/2012

I love the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and the full gospel that it shares with all those who seek it.

I feel that I am in a particularly difficult point in my life today. I have been married for over eight years and, although we have grown in income and person, we still find ourselves struggling with the same problems big and small. We will be moving – again – in a little less than a month. Both of our cars broke down in January and we have only been able to replace one at this time. The frustrations of life continue to trouble us, sometimes to the point of overwhelming us and exhausting us. While there is value in tribulation, we could do with less. It often feels that we have not learned anything.

But this morning, as I read a talk by President Uchtdorf, I felt the spirit strongly. His address was the the members of the Church who hear the gospel messages but have trouble acting upon them. I count myself among those who experience this difficulty. I often wonder why I do not act upon the things that I know, or desire to know. If I believe that Jesus Christ’s Church has been restored and that it my responsibility to make sure that Christ’s work is being done? It is often the overwhelming power of life’s problems that gives me reason to shirk my duties. I am not lazy, but overwhelmed. I need to find a source of strength to carry me through life’s troubles.

The beauty of the gospel is not in its complexities, but instead in its simplicity. The Lord preached a very simple message to those who followed him – Love the Lord thy God, and love thy neighbor as thyself. If we would do this – for the living and the dead – we will surely find a place in Paradise when we pass on to the life after this. My wish today is that my family might join me in my desire to fulfill this duty instead of continuing to be bogged down in difficulty.

Leave a Reply

